Special Session Proposal

IEEE Congress on Evolutionary Computation 2019

(Wellington, New Zealand, 10-13 June 2019)

Title: Evolutionary Computation for Bilevel Optimization

Scope and Aim:

Bilevel programming problems(BLPPs) are non-convex optimization problems with two levels, namely upper level and lower level. For such hierarchical structure, we need to fix an upper decision variable as a parameter and to solve the lower optimization problem. Such requirements make the bilevel optimization problems difficult to solve and time consuming. The majority of existing work on BLPPs is concentrated on linear BLPPs and some special nonlinear BLPPs in which all of the functions involved are convex and twice differentiable. In the context of multi-objective bilevel optimization problems, there does not exist too many studies. Most of the existing algorithms focus on approximate solution strategies and K-K-T conditions. However, these algorithms are very time consuming and strongly problem dependent.
In order to handle such problems efficiently and effectively, there is a need for theoretical as well as methodology advancements to solve single bilevel and multi-objective bilevel optimization problems.


The special session on Nonlinear Bilevel Programming Problems will bring together researchers working on the following topics:
1.Algorithms for single bilevel-optimization problems
2.Algorithms for bilevel multi-objective optimization problems
3.Surrogate procedures to handle bilevel optimization problems
4.Approximate approaches to handle bilevel optimization problems
5.Memetic approaches to handle bilevel optimization problems
6.Theoretical results on bilevel optimization problems
7.Bilevel applications
8.Approximate procedures to handle bilevel optimization problems


Biography of organizers

Associate Professor Jingxuan Wei


School of Computer Science and Technology, Xidian University , China

Jingxuan Wei is Associate Professor in School of Computer Science and Technology at Xidian University, China. Her research focuses mainly on evolutionary computation, large scale global optimization, bilevel optimization, multi-objective optimization, optimization theory. She has published over 30 papers as the first author in fully referred international journals and conferences and most of them are on evolutionary optimization algorithms. She is serving as a reviewer of some international journals including IEEE Transactions on Cybernetics and IEEE Transactions on Evolutionary Computation.

Ankur Sinha is an Associate Professor at the Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad, India in the area of Production and Quantitative Methods. He completed his Ph.D. from Aalto University School of Business, Finland, where his dissertation was adjudged as the best thesis for the year 2011. After completing his PhD, he has held visiting positions at the Michigan State University, MI USA and Aalto University, Finland. He has a Bachelors degree in Mechanical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India. His research interests are in the areas of Bilevel Optimization, Multi-objective Evolutionary Algorithms and Multi-Criteria Decision Making. He has been a co-chair of the track on Evolutionary Bilevel Optimization at CEC 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2018. He has also offered tutorials on Evolutionary Bilevel Optimization at GECCO 2013, PPSN 2014, CEC 2015, CEC 2017 and CEC 018. Furthermore, he has chaired sessions on other topics and has been active as a program committee member in the evolutionary computation conferences. More information about his research can be found on his website http://www.iima.ac.in/~asinha/.

Kalyanmoy Deb is a Koenig Endowed Chair Professor at the Michigan State University in Michigan USA. He is the recipient of the prestigious TWAS Prize in Engineering Science, Infosys Prize in Engineering and Computer Science, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in Engineering Sciences for the year 2005. He has also received the ‘Thomson Citation Laureate Award’ from Thompson Scientific for having highest number of citations in Computer Science during the past ten years in India. He is a fellow of IEEE, Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), Indian National Academy of Sciences, and International Society of Genetic and Evolutionary Computation (ISGEC). He has received Fredrick Wilhelm Bessel Research award from Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in 2003. His main research interests are in the area of computational optimization, modeling and design, and evolutionary algorithms. He has written two textbooks on optimization and more than 325 international journal and conference research papers. He has pioneered and is a leader in the field of evolutionary multi-objective optimization. He is associate editor and in the editorial board of a number of major international journals. More information about his research can be found from http://www.egr.msu.edu/people/profile/kdeb.

Professor Hecheng Li

Li Hecheng is currently a professor in the school of mathematics and statistics at Qinghai Normal University, and he received Ph.D. degree from Xidian University in 2009. He was a visitor in Chinese Academy of Sciences during 2011.9-2012.9, and has published more than 40 research papers on the topic of the evolutionary computation. His research interests mainly include bilevel optimization, global optimization, multi-objective optimization, evolutionary computation with applications

Professor. Mengjie Zhang


School of Engineering and Computer Science, Victoria University of Wellington, Wellington 6140, New Zealand

Mengjie Zhang is currently Professor of Computer Science at Victoria University of Wellington, where he heads the interdisciplinary Evolutionary Computation Research Group. He is a member of the University Academic Board, a member of the University Postgraduate Scholarships Committee, a member of the Faculty of Graduate Research Board at the University, Associate Dean (Research and Innovation) in the Faculty of Engineering, and Chair of the Research Committee of the Faculty of Engineering and School of Engineering and Computer Science.

List of Potential Contributors

Ekaterina Alekseeva (ekaterina2@math.nsc.ru)
Jaqueline S. Angelo (jsangelo@lncc.br)
Helio J.C. Barbosa (hcbm@lncc.br)
Slim Bechikh (bechikh.slim@yahoo.fr)

Ties Brands (t.brands@utwente.nl)
Fernando Camacho (jose.camachovl@uanl.edu.mx)
Abir Chaabani (abirchaabani@gmail.com)
Andrew Koh (a.koh@its.leeds.ac.uk)
Eduardo Krempser (krempser@lncc.br)
François Legillon (francois.legillon@gmail.com)

Hecheng Li (lihecheng@qhnu.edu.cn)
Xiaodong Li (xiaodong.li@rmit.edu.au)
Jason Liang (jasonzliang@utexas.edu)
Pekka Malo (pekka.malo@aalto.fi)
Mikko Linnala (Mikko.Linnala@uef.fi)
Jie Lu (Jie.Lu@uts.edu.au)

Sanaz Mostaghim (sanaz.mostaghim@kit.edu)
Lamjed Ben Said (bensaid_lamjed@yahoo.fr)
El-Ghazali Talbi (el-ghazali.talbi@lifl.fr)
Yuping Wang (ywang@xidian.edu.cn)
Guangquan Zhang (zhangg@it.uts.edu.au)